Big Girl Pants…

Since I’ve turned 21, I’ve had so many people asking me what it feels like to be a grown up now, that its given me quite a complex.

I’m a grown up NOW? because I’m 21?
how is what I’m doing today, at 21, any different to what I was doing the day before, at 20?
for me, I grew up when I was 15.

that was where my own considering myself a kid was over. there was no middle point. I dropped out of school and went into full-time work. one day a kid in school, the next an apprentice pulling 90 hour weeks, with workmates ranging between 20 and 45.

I’ve considered myself an adult for nearly 6 years. but because I’m only now ‘adult’ in the eyes of society, what was I before?

is it now time for me to leave uni, move out of home, get a car, have a steady relationship…

so you all know, I’ve been a chef for the last 6 years, lived out of home for 2 of them, have had a car since I was 16, and am part way through a business degree. the steady relationship thing… well. soon enough… maybe.

this is why I never tell people how old I am. the preconceived idea of what a 21-year old should be doing with their life. the ideas that I spend my weekends and nights drunk and disorderly. so many pigeonholes, only so much of me to be pigeoned.

why are we so defined by age? if I am to continue my accelerated burst through age milestones, then by 25, I should have 2.5 kids, a second husband, own two houses, be semi-retired and ready to travel the country in a caravan.

stop telling me what I should be doing based on my age. look at what I’ve done, look at what I’m doing, and ask me what I’ll be doing tomorrow. chances are, your own future might broaden a little, you narrow-minded fucks.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shaun Gray
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 06:04:28

    Was this aimed at any one in particular? I like this though. I’m also 21 and I feel sort of differently. I’ve not had it as tough as you but feel like I’ve been adult for years and yet I still feel like a kid at times.

    Great read though, keep ’em coming! 🙂

    Reply

    • ajgee
      Sep 12, 2010 @ 07:55:41

      Not aimed at anyone paticularly, just the general masses of ignorant people who assume i should be living life a certain way based on their preconcieved ideas of what life should be like. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

